This new feature on Orkut takes away the burden of using testimonials for sending private messages, thus making secret scraps more fun and interesting for selected friends.
All you have to do to send a private scrap to your friend is, simply compose your message first and before posting it, click the drop-down menu named visible to: and select the option only me and him.
By selecting this option only the person you’re sending the scrap will be able to see it and other users simply won’t see anything, thus keeping your scrap completely a secret.
And from now-on-wards every piece of content on Orkut will be labeled with a privacy level so that you can easily know who else is seeing it along with you. Orkut has provided three levels of privacy for any shared content:
Visible to all the web
This indicates that any orkut user can see the content posted. And if you add a comment to it, your comment will also be publicly visible.
Visible only to friends
This privacy level indicates that only the friends of the person who initially posted that content will be able to see it. And when you add a comment to it, your comment will show up in your profile page only for those friends that have access to the original content. Others simply won’t see anything.
Visible only to selected friends
This privacy level means that only a few users were selected to see the content posted. If the person who posted it has selected you to see the content then only you can see it and any comment you add will only be visible in your profile page to those selected friends that are able to see the initial content posted.